Why Blog?

To blog or not to blog

That was the question.

But here I am. A little about myself and what I am doing now….. My name is Russell Vannozzi and I am a freshman student at Lipscomb University in Nashville, TN. I am studying Business Management and minoring in Journalism. My dream is to work in the front office of a professional sports team or be an athletic director of a college. I currently assist in the Lipscomb Athletics Department as a student intern. In my free time away from school, I am a freelance sports writer for the Hendersonville Standard/Gallatin News.

A bit about where I go to school….. Lipscomb is a small, private Christian school located in the Green Hills area of the Music City. It is a wonderful community of students that are Christ-centered and looking for meaningful college experiences. I tell people all the time that no matter who you are, you can find your place here. We have all types of people from all types of backgrounds (from athletes to academics to artsy types, they’re all here). Going to school here has turned out to be one of the best decisions of my life and I’d have to say that Lipscomb has become my second home. Living with friends, rather than just going to school with them, has allowed me to get to know people on a deeper level than I ever have before.

Why I am starting this blog… I’ve always enjoyed writing, and I have been able to channel that into my sports writing. While I will touch on sports-related issues from time to time, I plan to do something different with this blog. My goal for this site is to explore a wide range of topics including life, faith, sports, culture, etc. Through this blog I hope to share relevant perspectives that will provoke everything from a deep thought to a good laugh. I have found that sharing stories, opinions, and perspectives allows for personal growth, and that is exactly what I hope to achieve here.

Like most, I have many more questions about life than answers.  The hope is that someone is entertained, inspired, or comforted by the words I write. If nothing else, I felt that starting a blog would allow me to organize my thoughts and opinions and put them into something that is at least semi-meaningful.

If you are still reading this, you are quite possibly now on my list of favorite people of all time. If you skipped ahead to the end, that’s cool too. Feel free to add comments and let me know what you think. “Russell, you are dumb for doing this” is just as useful to me as “it would be interesting if you blogged about X”, so do not shy away.

Hope you stick around, the best is on its way. Stay tuned in the coming days and weeks.

6 thoughts on “Why Blog?

Leave a Reply

