Going Global

“To travel is to take a journey into yourself.” – Danny Kaye. 

I have always had a passion for traveling. My family is scattered across the country, which has given me to the opportunity to take numerous trips over the years. Whether it was a 16 hour car ride to Rochester, NY or a short two hour flight to Houston, TX, a part of me was always excited for the traveling experience. Seeing the rolling hills of Tennessee, feeling the warm Texas sun, and having snowball fights in the middle of a New York snowstorm are some memories that come to mind. Traveling breaks up the monotony of day-to-day life and helps one develop a better perspective of their surroundings.

Fortunately my parents share the same love for exploration that I do. From Los Angeles to Chicago to New York and all the way down to New Orleans and Ft. Lauderdale, it feels like I’ve been everywhere (26 states in total). I would love nothing more than to see all 50 states before it’s all said and done.

But I have not been abroad much at all, other than a family vacation to Aruba in 2011. I knew Study Abroad was an option, but for whatever reason I did not jump at the chance to sign-up. After thinking about it I realized that this was a once in a lifetime opportunity. As soon as I graduate I will be on the job hunt which will make spending three months overseas hard to justify. With that being said, my fall 2016 semester will be spent in…. London, England! I’ll be packing my bags in late August to embark on the biggest trip of my life.

I am so excited to be heading to Europe for the first time. London is a fascinating city with rich history and culture. School will run from Monday to Thursday afternoon, allowing for weekend trips around Europe. Past groups have visited Ireland, Scotland, France, Italy, Greece, Spain, Germany, Switzerland, Sweden, etc.

A ten day trip to Italy is built into the schedule. This is probably the part I am looking forward to most, simply because my family can trace its roots back to boot shaped country. Some authentic Italian pizza will definitely be on the list of foods to try. I’m also planning to see some big-time soccer games, hopefully in Manchester and/or Barcelona. The world’s favorite sport does not hold the same level of importance in America as it does in Europe and it will be intriguing to see the passion of the players and fans.

Most of all, I am hopeful this stay in Europe will continue to develop me as an individual. Seeing other countries will help me better understand the different lifestyles led by people in various cultures.

The good news for you guys is that this trip will be a major upgrade to this blog. I will be sharing all kinds of pictures and information that you won’t want to miss! Chalk one up for life experiences and stories to tell for years to come. I am extremely grateful for this opportunity and plan on making the most of it. #LondonBound

2 thoughts on “Going Global

Leave a Reply

