Loving what I do

I grew up always reading newspapers, books, and magazines. If it had words on it, I was interested, especially if the words were sports related. Years later, I’ve had the opportunity to write about sports for several different outlets. It’s the ultimate combination of my two favorite things: sports and writing. It is not something that will make you rich right off the bat, but I sure am enjoying being paid to talk about my favorite subject. With this blog, I’m attempting to brush on a wide range of topics and that will continue when time permits! However, much of my work as of late has come in the form of sports writing. I’d love if you gave a few of the following articles a look.

Feature stories that recently appeared in the Hendersonville Standard/Gallatin News in both print and online outlets:

The Station Camp HS basketball team recently completing a recording setting season, when the Bison went 36-2 and reached the TSSAA Class AAA semifinals. I was fortunate to catch a few games and cover my alma mater during their impressive run.

3/8/16: Hard work and humbleness guide Bison to state tourney

bison

3/23/16: Station Camp finishes historic season as a”Family”

team2

Articles that have appeared on LipscombSports.com

I’ve also had the incredible opportunity to work as a student assistant in Lipscomb’s athletic office. My role has included live tweeting basketball and baseball games, as well as writing some game stories for the baseball website. Check out a sample below.

3/5/16: Symonette’s grand slam blasts Lipscomb to series win over Alabama A&M

symontette

3/25/16: Glenn hurls complete game in baseball’s win over Mississippi Valley State

Glenn

Leave a Reply

